Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1915 Elkhart Athletics

1915 Elkhart Athletics

I'm new to the Nation, I stumbled upon this org after searching for information on an early century semi pro baseball team, which I had stumbled upon by accident. It has now become my cause to learn everything I can about the team. I have a teminal medical condition and think this cause will be an enjyable and useful way to finish out my life. I'm a newbie at this and am looking for help/guidance/kick in the ass.

If anyone has suggestions on where I could find information on the 1915 Elkhart (Indiana) Athletics I would be forever grateful.

Appreciate any and all replies.

Kris Walker

I googled it and only found semi-pro baseball for Elkhart Kansas. I tried to find more online info about the semi-pro team, Olympic Brewers, that played in my hometown of Pueblo, Colorado and came up empty.

Batboy: Get a hit Crash!
    Crash: Shut up!

Backer of Rockies and Yankees.

Thanks for the attempt. Maybe I'll adopt the Olympic Brewers into my cause.

Quote Originally Posted by klwalk View Post
    Thanks for the attempt. Maybe I'll adopt the Olympic Brewers into my cause.
    They haven't been around since the mid 70's. Out of 6-8 players that went on to MLB, Sal Bando and Mike Scott made the most fame.

Batboy: Get a hit Crash!
    Crash: Shut up!

Backer of Rockies and Yankees.

Those are two good names. The only player that I've been able to come up with who was possibly associated with the Elkhart Athletics was Lou Criger. He was the Red Sox' first opening day catcher and caught most of Cy Young's 511 wins. Not much of a bat but must have been a good glove.

MLB Benchwarmer
    Hi Kris

Welcome to BN.

You might want to try subscribing to some online newspaper archives like Genealogy.com or newspaperarchives.com. You might find some of what you're looking for there. Check and see if your local library has access to proquest.

Good luck.