This is one of those little gems in baseball. Calfee Park is home to the Pulaski Mariners, but was home to several other teams as well:
Pulaski Counts, (1942, 1946 - 1950)
Pulaski Phillies, (1952 - 1955)
Pulaski Cubs, (1957 - 1958)
Pulaski Phillies, (1969 - 1977)
Pulaski Braves, (1982 - 1992)
Pulaski Rangers, (1997 - 2002)
Pulaski Blue Jays, (2003 - 2006)
Pulaski Mariners, (2008 - present)
Calfee Park was built in 1935 by the WPA work force, and named after the Town of Pulaski Mayor of the time, Ernest W. Calfee. The original structures still standing are the covered stands and the rock ticket gate at the north end. Over the years, the park has been used for horse shows, fairs, concerts, exhibitions, and of course, athletic events.
Calfee has also been host to high school and college baseball games and tournaments, and prior to consolidation of the Dublin and Pulaski High Schools, was the home football and baseball field for the Pulaski Orioles. The park is used for recreation league football and baseball, and continues to be a focal point in the community, hosting other large Town gatherings and events.
Following a major renovation in 1999, and due largely to its community value and significance, Calfee Park was named to the National and State Historic Landmarks Register, and after the 1999 season, was named the Appalachian League Facility of the Year. This unique ballpark has been featured and pictured in Sports Illustrated, National Geographic, Life and Virginia Living magazines.
The capacity is about 2,500.
Here are some photos: